Totally bragging on my kids – yeah, today, I’m that mom

Standard

Yesterday was my grandpa’s funeral.  I could write a book about my grandpa and the impact he had on my life and the lives of others, but right now, all I’m ready to say is that he was a good man.  In every sense of the word, he was a very good man.

Though I’m not quite ready to talk about Grandpa, what I am ready to talk about is how immensely proud I am of my children.

You never quite know how your children act when you aren’t around. Are they polite? Are they kind? Do they stand up for themselves?  As my children joined us at Grandpa’s funeral, I had the chance to catch an un-scrutinized glimpse of them.  From across the room, I saw my 11-year-old son stand straight and look adults in the eye as he offered his hand and introduced himself in a clear, strong voice.  He smiled and actively listened as his great uncles and adult cousins told stories.  He held the door for others and he even asked if he could get anything for some of the seated adults while grabbing a snack in the lounge.

At the visitation – a good three and half hours of meeting new people as family and friends came to honor a great man – my 9-year-old daughter entertained her younger cousin.  She smiled politely at the grown-ups who patted her head, said ‘thank you’ when told how pretty her hair was, and shared her iPad with her cousins, always making sure to keep the ‘play’ in the back lobby and the lounge area.

Oh, they were tired – don’t get me wrong – and when my son saw me go to the coat room, he jumped at the chance to follow me for a moment of “How much longer are we going to be here?”  When we were alone in the lounge, my bored daughter asked, “Do we really have to wait until after the chapel to eat lunch?”  But in front of the crowds of family, they put on their best faces, acting mature and respectful in every possible way.

And when I saw each of them go up to my dad and offer a hug, making sure he was doing okay as he dealt with his father’s passing, I knew I wanted to remember just how proud they made me.

They loved and respected their Grandpa-Great.  Their behavior yesterday did him proud.

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

2 responses »

  1. I’m sorry for your loss! I am not surprised at all of your account of your kids. I love your kids! JP has to be one of the sweetest kids I have had as of yet. I haven’t had Roxie in class, but she never misses a chance to smile and wave to me in the hallway! I would be blessed to have her in class next year!
    God Bless and good on you for producing such wonderful children!
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

