Frustrations and resignations of a 7-year-old

Standard

I received in the mail last month a flyer for the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation Walk for a Cure.  As I read it over, my daughter walked in and asked about it.  I explained it was a walk that we could do to help raise money to find a cure for diabetes.  Her face lit up.  “Can we do it Mommy? Can we do it?”

“Er, okay,” I said, admittedly taken back a bit by her enthusiasm.  “We can do the 2 mile ‘fun walk’, and maybe get Aunt Molly or Aunt Kelly to do it with us.”

“And then after we do it, I won’t have diabetes anymore?”

Her bright eyes stared up at me with all the hope that I never knew she was holding back.  She’s been so mature and accepting since her diagnosis, it never occurred to me that her cooperation was actually resignation.

My heart sank as I shook my head and said, “No, sweetheart, you’ll still have diabetes.  This is just to raise money so …”

“But you said it was for a cure!”  The excited hope faded as her eyes filled with tears and my heart broke a little more.

With her face buried in my tummy, I hugged her tight and explained how doctors and scientists were trying to find a cure so maybe someday she wouldn’t have it anymore.  But the walk was to help give money so they could keep trying.  Before my eyes, I watched this little girl rub the tears from her face, take a deep breath, and age about ten years.  Her moment of giving in to the fear and frustration of her life had passed and back was the resignation and acceptance.  “Can I wear a side pony-tail today for school?” she sighed.  “We’re dancing in gym class and I want to be able to whip my hair back and forth.”

It was more than a week later, that she came to me and asked if we were going to walk in that diabetes walk.  I’d actually put the flyer in the throw-away mail pile that tends to accumulate on our kitchen island, assuming it would be a few years before I brought it up again.  But she’d decided it would be fun if Aunt Molly and Aunt Kelly could come up and walk with her.  And maybe we could all wear purple.

So we are walking in the JDRF Walk for a Cure this October 29th in Indianapolis.   Apparently if she raises $100, she gets a t-shirt.   I have a feeling it will be the best $100 t-shirt she’s ever had.

 

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

4 responses »

  1. Megan, It is Heather McDermott, yeah a blast from the past. I just wanted to tell you how precious this post is. My husband has Type 1 diabetes and we are getting more and more involved in JDRF. WE have to test our boys regularly to make sure they are not developing it too. Little Roxy just touched my heart. Give her a big hug for us. I am going to forward this to my husband. THank you.

    • Hey Heather! We’ve been amazed at how many people this affects. We still have a lot to learn, but are looking forward to being involved in something that might help. Hope all is wonderful with your beautiful family, and thanks for reaching out:)

  2. Such an endearing rendition of you and your brave daughter. I remember driving (riding actually) past Military Park after my chemo at the Simon Cancer Center as tents were being set up. I wondered what event was going to take place. Then I saw pictures after the event in Molly’s facebook page. I was so moved by the whole event and the efforts that are being made to cure this horrendous disease. I was diagnosed in ’03 and how I wished I could have been part of the walk, but having Molly’s pictures of the day gave me great peace. I hope to overcome my latest health problem so that I WILL be able to participate in future fundraisers.

    I look forward to reading more of your blog and I will be buying your book when it comes out!!! Best of luck to you. I think you’re an amazing writer!!

    • Prayers to you for the best health possible! The event was so much more than we thought it would be. Not knowing what to expect, we were thoroughly impressed by every moment. Having family there to support and walk with us made it that much more special. I hope that you are able to participate next year and am so thankful that our pictures of the day brought a smile to your face:)

Leave a Reply

