Our New Reality

Standard

I sat in the ER of Riley’s Children’s Hospital, watching my seven-year old receive her first insulin shot and feeling completely overwhelmed.  After the nurse left, my husband went to get our son situated with Grandma and I had a few moments alone with my daughter.

“How are you doing, sweetie?” I asked.

“Fine,” she smiled.  “It didn’t hurt at all!”

I tried to smile back.  “Good.  Because, R, this is what we’re going to have to do from now on.  When we go home and back to school, we are going to have to take those little shots and poke your finger like before – we’re going to have to do all that from now on.”

The smile disappeared.  Tears welled in her eyes.  “I have to get the shots at home?”

“Yeah.”

Her voice shook. “For how long?”

My own tears finally broke through.  “For always, sweetheart.”

The pragmatic part of me knows that the world is full of children and families dealing with Type 1 Juvenile Diabetes – that my daughter will be able to live a long and healthy life.  But the mom in me is screaming It is a big deal! It’s diabetes! There is no cure and my precious, perfect little girl is going to have to take shots multiple times a day, everyday for the rest of her life!

It’s been three days now since her diagnosis and some of the overwhelming-ness is starting to subside.  It helps that she is handling this with the aplomb of an adult.  She even told me at bedtime last night, “I’m proud of you mom – you do a really good job with my shots.”  (Again the tears threatened to stream).

So this is our life now.  Adjustments, control, always being on top of her levels.  They say God only gives you what He knows you can handle – I’ll take it as a compliment that he believes we can handle this one:)

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

7 responses »

  1. *hugs*

    So sorry to hear about this. I’m glad there’s something the doctors can do for her, though, and that she’s taking it fairly well. I’ll hope/pray science makes more headway on diabetes soon!

    *hugs again*

  2. What a beautiful way to describe such a heartbreaking situation. You have a way with words, Megan, and our prayers. Please give my best to Roxy.

  3. I am so proud of each and every one of you. Brian, Megan, Roxy and Jake. Tears still swell up in my eyes; today especially after reading Megan’s blog. I am so proud of Roxy for being such an encouragement to her mom and dad saying when they found out it was their turn to give her the shot, “It’s okay, daddy, it doesn’t hurt! and for being such a big girl.” For Jacob for sitting through hours of family education that he didn’t understand but did it anyway and so well. For Megan for being the first brave one to give her daughter the shot and for being such a great mom. For Brian for always smiling at the kids even when he was crying on the inside; for sitting Roxy on his lap and playing the ‘tickle chair’; and for being a great dad. I am proud of Brian and Megan of how they are handling the entire situation. They did so well, yet they still need our prayers daily. I am praying for you guys and love you all. Remember Romans 8:28 “And we know that all things work together for the good of those who love the LORD.” God is with you and always will be.

    • Thank you so much for being there for us this weekend. You made a difficult situation 100% less stressful. Thank you for taking the time to learn with us, and make Jake know that he is not forgotten in all our chaos. I Love you!

Leave a Reply

