My pretty little idiot

Standard

Yesterday, I was reminded of my favorite Bill Cosby sketch – the one with the chicken heart that ate New York City.  It wasn’t the part with the floor covered in jello or the couch set on fire that I was remembering, but more the end of the skit – where Bill’s dad sets up a chair on his front lawn and shouts at passersby, “Hey you, come here and look at my stupid kid.”

Why would I be recalling this scene?  Because after school yesterday I looked out the front window to see my beautiful little 6 year-old daughter and her friend standing at the end of the driveway holding a sign and waving to cars as they drive by.  Not that big of a deal until I realized that on the sign they were holding, in huge block letters, was written both girls’ names, birthdays, home addresses, and home phone numbers.

Exasperated, I called both girls inside.  I explained that, while it’s great they know that information, shouting it to random strangers was simply not safe.  I lectured a bit about the dangers of strangers, etc. – pleased to see understanding and subtle fear shine in their eyes.  When finished, I asked if they understood.  The response: “We understand, but what should we do about the fliers we passed out?”

Fortunately, the only ‘flier’ passed out had been to another neighbor kid whose mother I knew pretty well.  She got a bit of chuckle out of the scenario, grateful, I’m sure, that it wasn’t her little girl standing on the street corner with a dry-erase board calling card.

Oh, the joys of parenting.  Some days, I totally forget that there are any.

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

2 responses »

    • Her friend had just memorized all her info at school, so my little one had to prove she knew all her info, as well. *sigh* In a way, their innocence is heart-warming. Unfortunately, this day and age, even at six, they need to know better.

Leave a Reply

