Bravo, A-Team, Bravo

Standard

The other night, my husband and I watched the movie “The A-Team”.  All I can say is, this was my kind of movie.  I literally smiled through the whole thing.  Forget all the chick-flick, emotional, tug-at-your-heartstrings Nicholas Sparks clap-trap.  Nothing gets to me like a good old-fashioned action movie. (Okay, I actually love Sparks as a writer, but not the point right now.)

As a fan of the TV show, this movie didn’t disappoint.  The casting was perfect:  Liam Neeson, Rampage Jackson, the cute guy from “Hangover”, and whoever the guy was who played Murdock, were all extremely well-suited for their roles.  And to top it off, Brian Bloom played the bad-guy.  I’ve loved Bloom since the 80’s made-for-TV movie ‘Dance til Dawn’ when he took Tracey Gold to the prom.  Definitely, a well-cast movie. 

And the story was just fun.  An underdog fighting for vengeance.  Going rouge to right a wrong.  A small street-smart team going against a corrupt betrayer.  I love that stuff!  Even the romantic side story was light – not too lovey-dovey, not too distracting.

Not that I don’t enjoy a good love story every now and then.  And a great drama, a well-told story, is always appreciated.  But if I had my way, I’d take sharp wit, outrageous effects, over-the-top fight scenes, and unlikely good-guys every time.  No moral messages here.  Just an old style action movie made to entertain.  Guess I’m just sentimental like that:)

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

One response »

  1. Loved the show, the movie’s been on my list all summer and just haven’t gotten a chance to see it yet. Thanks for letting us know it is well worth watching!

Leave a Reply

