Granola, peanut butter and other addicitions

Standard

I hate doing things when I know I’m not very good at them.  Ergo, I never diet.  I have no will power when it comes to the foods I love so why set myself up for failure, right?

Unfortunately, last week I stepped on the scale for the first time in several months.  I almost pee’d myself at what it revealed.  So against my better judgement, I’ve started a diet.

The problem I have with dieting is not avoiding bad foods – I haven’t had chips or desserts in the house for a long time.  The problem is that the good foods I do eat, I eat a lot of.  As in, I eat all of it.  At one time.  For example, I read in a magazine that granola was a great snack when trying to eat healthy.  So I purchased a box of all-natural organic granola.  And ate the entire box in one sitting.  See, no will power.

I ran into this same problem the last time I tried to change my eating habits when I read somewhere that a spoonful of peanut butter a day could leave you feeling fuller longer.  I ate so much peanut butter that week that I developed a permanent allergy to the food.

But I’m not giving up!  I’m determined to do this right – to get healthier and set an example for my kids to be healthy as well.  I just won’t be eating any more granola for a while.  Of course, I read this great article on flaxseed ….

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

2 responses »

    • Thanks Joanne! I’ve been looking at different online support sites but haven’t tried either of those – will def check them out!

Leave a Reply

