Car ride conversations

Standard

On the way to school this morning, my 8-year-old starts staring at his hand.  No talking, no frowning – just staring.  Finally, I ask, “What are you doing?”

“I’m having a staring contest with my hand,” he says matter-of-factly.

“You’re hand doesn’t have any eyes,” I say slowly.

“Doesn’t mean I can’t have a staring contest with it,” he replies.

“I love it when he has staring contests with his hand,” my 6-year-old says from the back seat.

“Why?” I ask.

“Because I can do this!” Then she reaches from the back seat all the way up to where her brother is sitting shotgun and smacks the hand he’s staring at right into his face.  His yelp is drowned out by his sister’s laughter.  I manage to grab him by the collar to keep him from throttling her then decide, now’s a good time to pass them off to their teachers.

“Everyone out!” I yell.  Summer starts next week.  Gonna be a blast…

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

One response »

  1. How did the staring at the hand game begin? This is how I remember it but my memory isn’t very good. Jacob’s Aunt Kelly had been playing the ‘stare down’ game with Jacob for quite a while. Aunt Kelly winning most of the time. Finally after Aunt Kelly just couldn’t keep her eyes open for a long period of time any more she asked Jake, why didn’t he have a staring contest with his hand. Hey, this worked! A NEW GAME. This is the same way the ‘quiet game’ was created. That was created when Tony, Kelly and Brian were little. Tony and Kelly played the ‘who can be the quietest’ game while they had to ride in the back seat with their little brother – who talked continuously all the way to grandmas house. That one worked too. Brian was actually quiet – at least for a few minutes. Quiet game, staring game. All for a purpose. I loved being with the grandkids this weekend. However, I finally admit that I really am much older. Do they ever run out of energy????? Love you all, mom

Leave a Reply

