To revise or not to revise

Standard

I’m starting to hit my groove writing my second book when I make the mistake of re-reading the first couple chapters.  Bad move.

It starts innocently enough.  A character is getting into his car when I can’t remember which specific make and model he is supposed to be driving.  I find the descriptive passage in an earlier scene, read the scene, and that’s it. 

Creative flow gone – replaced by the addictive and resilient NEED TO REVISE.  

I kick myself every time this happens.  I set specific time aside to edit just so I won’t fall into this trap.  Does it work?  Of course not.

Discipline!  That’s what I need!  I set a schedule for myself and I need to stick to it!  And I will.  From this moment forward I will absolutely stick to my schedule: write when I’m supposed to write, edit when I’m suppose to edit, twitter and Facebook only during designated times.

Granted, if I had any discipline at all, I’d have lost twenty pounds and quit biting my nails a long, long time ago.  But my intentions are good, so that counts.  Right?

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

2 responses »

  1. This is SUCH a problem for me.

    I often will go days at a time between stints of serious writing. I invariably feel the need to read over some of my previous writing to get my head back into the story. WHAM! I spend the next 20 minutes or more of productive writing time rewriting what I’d written before because even though it’s all a draft I don’t like it and can’t just leave it that way. {sigh}

    Good luck getting back on track!

Leave a Reply

