Limbo makes me grouchy

Standard

I’m stuck in limbo.  My manuscript is being read by a small group of Urban Fantasy readers who will provide their feedback to my agent who will in turn provide that feedback to me.  From there I will apply that feedback with the necessary revisions then send it back to my agent.   After that – no clue.

That is the most frustrating part for me.  I don’t know enough about the process to have expectations.  My agent is excellent at answering my questions when they arise, but I’m so clueless that I don’t even know what to ask.  I don’t want to rush the readers, but at the same time I’m anxious to move forward to the next step.

My hair is going to be falling out soon from the impotent frustration welling up inside me!!

And unfortunately for my kids, the old saying  “if momma ain’t happy, ain’t NOBODY happy” totally rings true in my household.

Okay.  Venting over.  *deep breath* 

I’m just going to play another round of Mystery Date with my daughter, take a long drink of cherry coke zero, and give in to the unknown.  It’s a good thing my life isn’t really in my hands, otherwise, I’d really go crazy:)

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

8 responses »

  1. LOL I don’t know about the agent part because I don’t have one, but I can tell you waiting on submissions or beta readers can be frustrating. Especially on the part of submissions when a rejection is the result.

    The only thing you can do is work on the next book. Because, after all, once you sell that first one, you’ll have to come up with another really quick.

    Good luck!

    • Thanks for the encouraging words! I’m trying to focus on that second book, but can’t seem to make it past the prologue:) Nice to know I’m not alone in the frustration, though!

  2. I get you! I do know what it’s like to hand out a ms to others and then pace the floor waiting for responses. You’re at the mercy of their timetable. One thing that you have — above the bajillion of other writers out there — is that you’re dealing with an agent. You’ve already jumped the big hurdle that many other writers never do.

    That means your work has passed muster and you’ve got some smooth sailing before you, I predict 😉 Think of today as a moment in time. It’s not forever, it’s just today.

    • Thanks for reminding me to look at the big picture! As a recovering control-freak, I tend to struggle with the here-and-now. The encouragement is greatly appreciated:)

  3. *hugs*

    I completely understand. I’m waiting on revisions notes and trying to distract myself with another project. It’s working, mostly. I like the book I’m working on and it’s not related to my UF. Can you work on an unrelated project? You know, just something to keep you sane?

    I haven’t looked at my UF in over three weeks. I’m having withdrawals, which I think is good, because that means I’m not sick of it yet. 🙂

    • I’m (finally) working through my second book in the series. It’s been so hard to get into it b/c in the back of my mind lingers the first book and its pending feedback:) Putting in the effort though, so hopefully the distraction will work … and hopefully I’ll hear something sooner than later;)

Leave a Reply

