Valentine’s Day post: Real friends help bury the bodies

Standard

This Valentine’s Day has me thinking about the different kinds of love in my life – the love I share with my husband (aka soul mate, love of my life, only person I can truly be myself with), my kids, my friends, my family – and in thinking about how each person has impacted my life a strange thought keeps popping up:  if I were to commit murder, who would help me dispose of the body?

I mean, that is a true test of love, right?  So ignoring all the moral quandaries of why I’d kill someone, why I wouldn’t go to the police, etc. I asked myself who would be the one person I’d call as I stood over the body of the one I just murdered?  It didn’t take me long to answer – Molly, my little sister.

I can just imagine the conversation …

Me: Hey, Goo, its me. Whatcha doing?

Molly: Grading papers, playing with Puppydog. Why what’s up?

Me: I killed someone and need to get rid of the body.

Molly: Oookkaay.  Let me clean Noah’s guitar stuff from the truck first then I’ll be on over.  Where are you?

Sure there would be questions later, but she’d be there with her truck, and probably a tarp and duct tape just to be practical.

In a lot of ways, this is what unconditional love is (macabre, but true).  With Molly there may be confusion but never judgment.  She is the epitome of genuine honesty.  If she doesn’t like or agree with what I’m saying or doing, she’ll simply say, “I don’t like that”.  She’ll never try to say what she thinks I want to hear, or appease me with passive disagreement.  She is kind, and beautiful, and absolutely the first call I’d make to cover up a crime because she is smart enough to get away with it. Of course she’s also the most likely to convince me to turn myself in, so my guilty subconscious would also be appeased.

There are others on my very short dead body disposal list:  Brian, of course – assuming he wasn’t the one I killed, Mark – although there would probably be questions up front, Sarah – who would be shaking her head at me the whole time wondering how I get myself into these situations, and Cathy – who I would have to call and confess to afterwards anyway.  But Molly would definitely have to be my first call. 

Valentine’s Day may not be the most appropriate day to consider hiding a body, but it is definitely the day to contemplate the loves in your life.  So love.  And appreciate those you love.  It’s simply too rare not to share:)

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

4 responses »

  1. Hmmm, I so glad you wouldn’t call me, I’d have to have your father drive me and you know how he is with blood. Mark would provide the best defense though 🙂

  2. Darn tootin’ my sista… I’d be there in a heart beat thinking of the perfect spot to dispose of the body so that no one would find it. CSI has taught me sooo much 🙂

    I think I have plastic gloves in my classroom med kit… I’d have to make a pit stop first 🙂 LOVE YOU ALWAYS NO MATTER WHAT!!!

Leave a Reply

