J’s prayer

Standard

The minds of my children fascinate me and if I could record every prayer they say at night, I would.  But this one, I had to write down as soon as I could!  This is from my 7-year-old son, spoken before bedtime, the day after the Super Bowl.  The genuineness and sincerity he expressed (his eyes closed tight, his hands clasped together) was just too precious not to share:

Dear God,

Please help us to have good dreams and no bad dreams, no nightmares, Lord.  And please help me to have fun at school tomorrow and do my best.  And help my (basketball) team win at our game on Saturday.  Help me to try my best and play well and win the game.  And please remember the good dreams and no bad dreams tonight.  And please help all the people in Haiti to feel better and help the police officers to drive safely and help people and capture bad guys.  And please help the Colts win the Super Bowl next year.  And even though I really wanted the Colts and Peyton Manning to win the Super Bowl this year, thank you for letting the Saints win because they’ve never won before. And help us to have only good dreams and no bad dreams, no nightmares.  Amen.

One response »

  1. Love it! Last week a friend of mine was cooking in the kitchen and heard her 3 year old yelling in the living room “Are you there? Can you hear me? I can’t hear you!”
    She runs into the living room to see the three year old with the window open (in Mass, of all places) yelling at the sky. She goes “Edgar, who are you talking to?” Edgar goes, “I’m trying to talk to God, but I don’t think he can hear me….”
    Jake made me think of that!
    Oh, and if he has an “in” on the football…my Panthers have never won a Superbowl either! Lol

Leave a Reply

