Conversations with R

Standard

Before school this morning, my kids were playing with R’s sleeping mask, using it as a hat and ruining their nicely combed hair.  (Did I mention that my 5-year-old daughter wears a purple velour sleeping mask to bed every night?)  In the car on the way to school, I noticed my son’s hair in the rear view mirror.

“What happened to your hair, J?  It’s all over the place.”

“It was her mask, it messed it up.” He ran his hand over the top of his head in a fruitless effort to smooth it out then asked, “Is that better?”

R answered before I could saying, “Oh yeah, Jake.  You’re hot.” (Since when do 5-year-olds know when someone’s hot?!)

I snapped at her, “R, stop being obnoxious.”

J asked, “What’s obnoxious?”

R’s answer: “Why obnoxious is Chinese for ‘Hello, very good girl.'”

This is what she’s like at 5!  I lay awake at night in fear of what she’ll be like as a teenager!

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

One response »

  1. I am more concerned about her purple velour sleep mask! At least she won’t get wrinkles and is guaranteed a good night’s sleep. A diva in the making????? Girlfriend, you have an expensive girl on your hands. What is next? Fur-lined tutus? When she is old enough she can have my fur coat that is lovingly called my “hedgehog” coat. What a cutie!

Leave a Reply

