Time to make some goals

Standard

I’m a very goal-oriented person.  If I have a goal, I’ll meet it.  The only problem with this is after I meet a goal, then what?  I usually have a little down period of the ‘now what’s’.  That happened at the end of 2009.  My goal for the year was to write a novel.  Once I achieved that, I wanted to do something with that novel.  After I began to work with my agent, I was in the waiting period.  Now what?

So its time to set some new goals – get refocused!  So here we go:

1.  Complete a second novel.  Whether this is the second of the Magnolia series or something completely different, a second novel WILL be written.

2. Spend more focused time with my kids.  Eating dinner every night together, doing homework with them, asking about school, all those things are great, but they are still young and I want this time to count.  There’s a reason I left corporate America – I need to refocus on those fabulous people.

3. Write at least 1 article per week.  Writing for the Examiner may not be the most lucrative way to get published, but it keeps me writing and helps me to be concise in my work.  I’ve backed off a bit from my work with them, but I need to get back to it.

4. Twitter.  Okay, maybe not just Twitter, but the point it that I need to develop a self-marketing platform and Twitter is supposed to be a big part of that.  I need to learn how to utilize this and other on-line tools to the best of my ability.

Okay, there are several other priorities for the upcoming year (work on my marriage, grow in my relationship with Christ, stick to a realistic budget, reconnect with friends, etc.) but these are the four goals for which I am going to keep an actual running track record.

And so it begins…wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

