Overwhelmed

Standard

I received the first set of revision for Magnolia, about 3 pages of very specific suggested changes from my soon-to-be agent.  I am in agreement negotiations with this agent, someone I am thrilled to have the opportunity to work with by the way.  I received her agreement via UPS and only asked for one change:  the agreement is for a term of 2 years.  That seems long to me and in talking with my new author friend, Dianne, that is a bit lengthy for a commitment.  Unfortunately I don’t know enough about the industry to know how to properly negotiate.  Oh, I know how to settle a contract, just not in this industry.  It’s EXTREMELY disconcerting and totally giving me a headache.

So while we discuss the agreement she has provided me, as we discussed over the phone, an edit letter with initial revision suggestions.  I actually approve of her revisions and find that her insight is making a 2 year commitment seem like maybe not so bad of a thing.

In the meantime, I’ve started getting responses from other queries I sent out a couple weeks ago.  They are all positive.  They are all requesting the full manuscript.  So the question now becomes, do I continue with agent 1 who I have semi-started a relationship with, one that I enjoy; or do I hold out for perhaps someone better (one agent is currently representing 1 NYT best selling author and his firm represents several more).  Good position to be in, but this is just moving way, way too fast…

About Megan Powell

Coffee loving, boo-boo kissing, mom and fan-girl who also happens to be the author of Urban Fantasy novels, NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED and its sequel, NO LOVE FOR THE WICKED. Check out my upcoming releases at http://www.meganpowellbooks.com.

One response »

  1. WOW! This is all AWESOME news! Good for you. You’re inspiring me. I need to get off my butt and get more stuff out there. I’ve decided to pursue articles for now. (I haven’t written a book like you have; I just thought I might have a book of essays, but I was told that may not be the way to go). Your news is awesome, and I have no experience and therefore no advice for you. But I just wanted to tell you how great I think this is!

Leave a Reply

